Kfrizzell

Newbie here with a 14 gallon tank need all the help I can get!

Kfrizzell

Hello there new aquarium friends. I’m totally new to this whole world of aquariums. I’ve never really had a cool setup like I’ve received from my gfs father. 

He gave me a bunch of awesome tools to make an epic aquarium.

I have been wanting to make an awesome aquarium for my home for some time now.  But it’s such a costly but well worth it kind of hobby. 

I have been given a 14 gallon Oceanic bio cube. 
Also there is a new light that he added from stevesled. I need to figure out the configuration of the plugins to the lights. Also learning how to setup the timing for all the light. Also have no idea what cycles to set up the timers on. 

He suggested some things to get started:

10 lbs of live sand carribsea arag-Alice aquarium sand.

3 x 5 galling imagitarium Pacific Ocean water

5-10 pounds of live rock 

If any of you have any good starter tips or and any information on the light setups and timers please feel free to help.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

sadie

welcome to the hobby and the forum.  The Biocube is a nice All In One tank.  I have the 16 gal.

The list to start with looks good.  Some ppl buy already mixed salt water, I prefer to buy the salt and mix it myself.  That's about all you need to start the cycle. 

My biggest suggestion is research.  Ask a lot of questions.  

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

seabass

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.

I can't say that I know much about the lighting that you have.  It looks like it comes with a timer; if not, you could plug the light's power supply into a standard three pronged outlet timer.  Also, you can always ask him.  He's probably hoping you'll bond a little over it.  I hope you're fairly serious about his daughter.

• Like 1

Kfrizzell
On 11/6/2019 at 6:28 PM, sadie said:

welcome to the hobby and the forum.  The Biocube is a nice All In One tank.  I have the 16 gal.