inTank Media Baskets

🚀Pocket Rocket Pico Reef🚀

The Rainy Day Aquarium

The Rainy Day Aquarium

Introduction:

Part of my employment includes working part time at a pretty slow desk job. Besides the common desky things that reside in my newly acquired personal space, it seems rather empty. I recently sold some aquarium hardware and such and had some extra funds to start a small office pico reef. After hours of research I knew what I wanted, but unfortunately there were no available commercial products that fit those needs/wants. Enter DIY. I'm not a professional, but consider myself fairly handy and enjoy a challenge. In all I ended up building my own pico reef using 1/8" thick acrylic.

Equipment:

Tank: DIY 1 gallon rimless AIO

Light: Zetlight mini (zn1000)

Heater: Aqueon mini heater 5watt (controlled by a Cobalt Neo-Stat)

Live Stock:

TBT 

Build:

This was my first time working with acrylic so there was a learning curve for sure. The main panels were cut out using a compound miter saw and then sanded to finish the edges, and the rest of the fine cuts and details were done on a CNC machine. One of the key things that I wanted was to have a small tank, but with a false back leading to the built in filtration. Although this is a classic "AIO" filtration design, I had a lot of fun designing it.