Pod Your Reef

Mystery green film algae and cloudy water

EvanSPS6

Hi all,

Sorry for the long write up but I'm new to the reef keeping hobby and just trying to provide as much information as I can.

I have a 20g AIO tank which finished cycling a little over a month ago (started with dry rock and sand). Since then I have added a clean up crew, a bicolor blenny, clownfish and a cleaner shrimp. Recently my water has become  cloudy (I suspect a bacterial bloom) and I now have a decent amount of what looks like green film algae on my rocks. 

My parameters seem to be all in check so I don't understand why I'm having so much algae

Ammonia: 0ppm

Nitrites: 0ppm

Nitrates: 5ppm

Phosphates: 0.03ppm

My clean up crew consists of:

6 small turbos

1 trochus

3 nassarius

Recently though, i can only count 3 turbo snails in my tank. I have a theory that maybe 3 have died and is causing the algae outbreak and bacterial bloom however I checked for Ammonia a few times and it has read 0.

I can also add that the cloudy water and algae seem to have gotten a little worse after my most recent water change when I vacuumed the sand a little and turkey basted my rock. During this water change I also added carbon into my media rack. Not sure if all this had anything to do with it or if it's just a coincidence.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Edit**

I forgot to add that I'm running a reef glass protein skimmer and I have been doing weekly 15-20% water changes.

I'm also running the lower intensity saxbys light schedule on my ai prime HD

• Like 1
1 hour ago, EvanSPS6 said:

Hi all,

Sorry for the long write up but I'm new to the reef keeping hobby and just trying to provide as much information as I can.