Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

New tank set up

Erik13

I’m about to be setting up a 10 gallon reef tank with live rock and filtration from a running 80 gallon along with the 2 clown fish that a re currently in the 80 gallon. is there anything i should keep in mind when setting it up? This will be my first saltwater tank so I’m new to it. Been keeping fresh water for about 10 years now

That’s what I figured I was planning on doing 10 -20% water change a week if needed other then coral is there anything else I can add to the tank

Here is the list I normally use. It recommended 2-3 fish for ten gallon. I would recommend shrimp goby and pistol shrimp pair. They are very interesting to watch but you will need at least a 2” sand bed. 

• Like 1

Thanks for the information that’s going to help a lot I have a feeling that this new tank won’t be my only saltwater tank when I get the hang of it lol. 

• Like 1

Well just got the live rock and filter situated in the tank last night it came from the tank I’m getting the fish from would it be alright to add the clownfish today I tested the water for ammonia and nitrite and all seemed good

If I'm with you on the story, it should have been fine to add the fish and live rock all at once if they were coming from the same established tank.

I'm just not 100% sure if I understand you correctly that they are all from the same original tank since you said you did not have salt water before this.  It sounded like you said they were from the 80 gallon, but you said that already has angelfish in it.  if it was from the 80 gallon, I'm not sure I understand how you are downsizing that into a 10 gallon. What all will be left over from the 80 and what will you do with all of it?  Am I completely off?

i Was given the 80 gallon with the clownfish but moved them and the rock to the 10 gallon so far they seem happy and active I’m really enjoying they little guys I’m already planning on upgrading the tank to something a little bit bigger