Coral Vue Hydros

Help Me Figure Out Aquarium Details

DailynJ

Hi all! My name is Dailyn, I'm a college student majoring in biology, and I’m hoping to someday be a marine biologist. I have forever loved all things aquatic, and have an extensive freshwater aquarium keeping history. When I was young, my mother tried maintaining a saltwater aquarium, she cycled it, tested it, and used RODI water, and no matter what all our inhabitants died. I'm hopefully going to try to set up my own saltwater tank around Christmas! Here's a few things you need to know about me and my limitations:

• I live on the third floor of an apartment, so having a huge aquarium is a no-go for the risk of flooding. Floor support for a larger tank is also a concern. For this reason, I have been considering tanks around 30 gallons, after I found out that 10 gallons are not very stable (I used to have 5 10gal freshwater tanks so I didn't think it would be much different). The risk of flooding also makes me very cautious about having a sump in a stand, so I've been leaning towards aquariums that have sumps in the back of them.
  • I'm a full-time college student, so money is sometimes not very available, and I can be quite busy.
  • I would like to place my tank next to where I sit on the couch, so an ideal footprint would be around 2'x2'.
  • My ideal budget for the setting up of everything for the tank would be around $1,300. This includes items like the sand, rock, test kits, RO/DI system, refractometer, outlets, and whatever. Everything before stocking the tank.
  • I'm doing my research, but simpler would be better. I don't know tons about different kinds of lights, skimmers, wavemakers, and all that. I know some people have great tanks without protein skimmers and ATO systems, so my idea is that if I have simple stuff it could work out too, right?