Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Greenstar Polyps is disintegrating

Tkstarr

Hello everyone! 

I am new to reef keeping and could use a lil help please. Currently experiencing an problem with my GSP I got this nice size mat from a reputable fish store and it looked amazing in their tank it was an electric bright green very healthy lots of polyps when I purchased it. 

Its only been about two weeks and the  polyps have never open since I added them to my tank.  Now I do understand it take time for GSP to open but I can tell something is wrong with this coral.  I dip the GSP in ReVine coral dip before adding it to the tank. Now the purple mat appears to be disintegrating right before my eyes  exposing the inner green body of the polyps on some of the mat. There are other parts of the mat the look normal but are still closed up tightly. 

I have pristine water conditions as I run my system very clean maybe a lil to clean I’ve been told I could possibly not have enough nutrients in my tank for this coral to thrive.

This system had fish at the very beginning however, I had to remove them from the main display into quarantine because they were ill. The main display has been without fish for several weeks almost a month now so I’m not sure if this could be my problem.  I have done water changes as normal and all my parameters seem to be in range.

I recently added 1 new snowflake clown fish to my system yesterday hoping this would help add nutrients to my system since the other fish are still ill and I don’t want to add them back to my main display yet. I do target feed my corals with Reef Roids at least once a week. 

I have also tried to do a really good job at making sure I don’t have any bad hitchhikers in my tank. I dip all my corals and fish before they go into my main display and I have checked the tank with a flashlight after lights out to see if there’s anything going on and I see nothing.