Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Fresh water fill up

Charith1986

Hi, I am very new to reef tanks. I have a nano 8 gallon tank and its salinity is between 1.020 to 1.021.

Even though some water has evaporated over past three days the salinity level is constant and have not changed.

Do I need to add some fresh water to the tank at this moment ?  Will it reduce my salinity level further ?

There re only two fish a small clown and a damsel in the tank.

Any time you add fresh water to a salt water tank it dilutes the salinity.  Is there a reason why you're keeping your salinity so low?  It's recommended to keep it at 1.026.  

Edit:  Sorry, meant to type 1.026.

1 minute ago, j.falk said:

Any time you add fresh water to a salt water tank it dilutes the salinity.  Is there a reason why you're keeping your salinity so low?  It's recommended to keep it at 1.025.

Actually when I purchased the tank last sunday the shop gave me water as well but when I checked the salinity when I came home it was low as 1.016 therefore I half emptied the tank and filled again with salt water and it was my self who achieved the salinity of 1.021. As I have no prior experience it was the maximum I could do at that moment. Now the salinity is constant though some water has evaporated. Its not increasing though. What should I do ? shall I continue like this for few more days? fish looks good and I check the salinity in the morning and in the evening daily.

1.016 is way too low.  1.021 is low.  1.026 is ideal because it emulates natural sea water.  I would get your salinity up meaning you need to add fresh saltwater to the aquarium to bring up the salinity.  

Also, are you using a hydrometer or refractometer to test your water?  Hydrometers are very inaccurate and I would highly recommend a refractometer if you don't already have one.  You can usually get them on Ebay for $16-$20 and that price includes shipping.

51tMY34r9LL._SX342_.jpg

• Like 2
15 minutes ago, j.falk said: