Cultivated Reef

Beginners questions (Algae and Skimming)

GrumpyDaddy68

GrumpyDaddy68

Hi All,

I am new in the hobby and I have a few questions I hope some of you guys can help me with:

Note: I have a IM25 lagoon  that has been officially running with fish only for about 5 weeks now (for different reasons I had it cycling for 3 months).

- I have started seen some green spots here and there; I'm guessing these are some kind of algae. Am I correct?

- The skimmer is one of those new IM DC Desktop and it's been running for about 2-3 weeks; however, the skim looks kind of wet and clear.

I only have two small clownfish and the bio load is really load (I feed them once a day with Hikari Marine S pellets and once or twice a week with Reef Frenzy Nano (LRS).

The water parameters look OK for what I can tell: Ammonia - 0, Nitrite - 0 and Nitrates between 0-5, Phosphates are also close to 0.

I did never really had a diatom bloom so I don't have a clean up crew yet (I'm afraid if I add them they won't have enough food).

Note: I have been changing about 25% water every two weeks and 5-10% in between.

Does this look ok to you guys?

Like I said I am new and I am not sure if all these is normal.

Thanks in advance for all your comments.

I have added a couple screenshots (algae and skim).

IMG_4904.jpg

IMG_4905.jpg

Yep, that's green cyano. It's really bacteria that uses light as a food source on top of your tank's nutrients, spreads rapidly if conditions are right. Next time you do a water change, siphon it out. I'm battling red cyano myself in my tank as my seahorses are messy and picky eaters so my nutrients run wild.

Also skimmer looks fine, it is skimming a bit wet (hence the clear watery look), try lowering the black O-ring on the cup and see if the skimmate gets darker.

How much flow is in the tank? Dead zones lead to cyano as well.

As mentioned, sucking it out is a good idea, you can also do it in between waterchanges with a tutkey baster.