Top Shelf Aquatics

Newbie Marine set-up. Which Filtration option?

Tazjunky

Evening all, newbie here.

so to set the scene.......

Eheim Vivaline tank - 150 litre, 33 gallon (UK) 39 gallon (US) - cheeky little bargain and in such amazing condition. Glass aquarium is 60cmx50x50. 

I want  to have a predominantly coral set up with the obligatory clown fish duo and maybe a few other smaller species and shrimp 🦐 but that’s it. 

I am planning on either Red Sea 90 LED light or the AI HD for lighting.

Power heads etc

live sand, live rock 

my biggest confusion at the minute is filtration.

the tank came with a Eheim Biopower 200 which has foam and other filter media.

I don’t have a sump or the connections for it but I could drill the back for pipe work and get a nano sump which would fit perfectly in the cabinet underneath the tank. Although this space measures 40cmx40cm.

I've read canisters are good and my LFS has been using one on their main display tank for around 2 years with no problem. 

HOB seem to be popular with smaller tanks but I’m not sure I could manage to fit one due to the large plastic trim around the top of the aquarium. 

I’ve also seen some people not using a filter. 

So any any suggestions greatly appreciated - what should I use?

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

• Like 2

Most will say canister filters are more work. They need frequent cleaning.

Sponges are definitely not recommended as they are nutrient and detritus traps.

A good hob will fit on a rimmed tank, most are designed for those types of tanks.

My personal favourite is the Seachem Tidal hob. Best one I've ever used and it has many positive features.

• Like 1

Try to see if any aquarium stores does any custom acrylic work, you might be able to get a sump/overflow kit cheaper than the ones online.