SaltCritters.com

Intro/12 Gallon Long Build Questions

rmalford

Hello, I've about 7 years of freshwater fish-keeping experience. I've been out of the hobby for about 4 years now. My last tank was an acrylic 8 foot long 240g which I kept a variety of Malawi haps and peacocks. I've never attempted to keep any salt water aquarium. I am set on trying a 3 foot long 12 gallon dirty reef with a bare bottom. So far, I have only the tank and the will. I'm looking into lighting and wave maker options. Currently looking at a USA Current Orbit Marine Pro P/N: 4226. I think this light will grow anything in my tank size? For waves, I had been looking at specs for an MP10 and also the USA Current eFlux. Hopefully, some of you would be willing to give me a little guidance.

Questions:

1. I know nothing about what type of rock to scape with. Start with dead rock and does it need to be cured?
  2. Would 1 MP40 be too much or would I need 2 MP10? I am going bare bottom so won't need to worry about kicking up sand.

Pictures from my old 240g for attention

6833668E-5FFD-4F62-BDB8-04DEE483F527.jpeg

C053661F-5C8C-484B-AB62-D07FE6E49DCB.jpeg

84E97412-8191-498B-9665-108291A27A54.jpeg

• Wow 1

Hi and welcome

What do you plan on keeping in the tank?

2 mp10's would be better than 1 mp40.

There are other options like aqamai, tunze, jebao, nero5.

As for rock, that's personal preference.

Some like live rock, other dry rock. Cycling with either choice will be different.

Liverock has benefits like diversity of life, if fully established, not likely to cycle or often shorter cycles.

Dry rock come with no life and when cycling requires an ammonia source and bacteria dosing.

It's best to read up on the options and how to cycle, then choose which method is best for you

• Like 2

Agreed.  

8 hours ago, rmalford said:

I know nothing about what type of rock to scape with