Cultivated Reef

New to saltwater

Senor0cean

Hey guys I’m new to this hobby I’ve been wanting to set up a saltwater tank for years and finally pulled the trigger ! 

I need all the help I can get in finally ready to start cycling I’ve got live sand and dry rock a buddy of mine gave me a vial of prodibio biodigest i will be adding it later today and see how it goes.. any tips and suggestions are def welcomed! And encouraged lol plz 

I already have a problem once my sand settled my tank still isn’t clear looks like there’s sand particles floating around everywhere just making a tornado how can I get rid of them! It’s only been 3 days idk if I’m impatient or not

• Like 1
16 minutes ago, Senor0cean said:

Hey guys I’m new to this hobby I’ve been wanting to set up a saltwater tank for years and finally pulled the trigger ! 

I need all the help I can get in finally ready to start cycling I’ve got live sand and dry rock a buddy of mine gave me a vial of prodibio biodigest i will be adding it later today and see how it goes.. any tips and suggestions are def welcomed! And encouraged lol plz 

I already have a problem once my sand settled my tank still isn’t clear looks like there’s sand particles floating around everywhere just making a tornado how can I get rid of them! It’s only been 3 days idk if I’m impatient or not

Welcome to NR! 😊

it sounds like you are off to a good start. Don’t worry about the sand particles, new tanks can look a bit “dusty” at first. 

Post some pics for us. 

• Like 2

Hi and welcome to Nano-Reef.com and really the marine aquaria hobby.

All I can say for now is read, read and read. There's a ton of info available and any question you might have most likely has been answered. It's a great thing you have a buddy to help guide you through the process of building a reef but as you'll learn and find that there's many ways to skin a cat in this hobby. 

• Like 2