Coral Vue Hydros

New To Nano Reef - Can I use a top filter as my sump?

DyloHeath

Hey everyone,

I'm completely new to nano reefing and I'm not even sure if I'm asking this question correctly.

I recently purchased a tank similar to this https://www.aquaone.com.au/2015-04-16-04-47-04/2015-04-16-06-00-17/aquariums/aquastyle-2/item/2938-52017gwh

(The AquaStyle 980)

Can I use the top filter (its in the lid on top of the tank) as a sump? 

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I live in Australia and I'm finding it hard to find a cheap second tank for a sump or a kit to drill holes in the tank for an internal overflow box.

Any advice would be appreciated.

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.

I'm not sure if I understand how the canopy filter is setup, or how it might possibly be modified.  I'd probably use the filter as originally intended.  A sump certainly isn't required for a 57 gallon tank.

I'm more concerned about the lighting.  Do you have more information about the lights and spectrum?

• Like 1
5 hours ago, seabass said:

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.

I'm not sure if I understand how the canopy filter is setup, or how it might possibly be modified.  I'd probably use the filter as originally intended.  A sump certainly isn't required for a 57 gallon tank.

I'm more concerned about the lighting.  Do you have more information about the lights and spectrum?

Thanks for the welcome!  I'll be here for a while.

1. Wait, I don't even need a sump for a 57 gallon tank? I keep hearing that you need it. Would I use a canister or the filter it came with?

2. I was going to replace the lighting with this (using mainly soft corals) and some clown fish for my first tank:

SMD5730 LEDs with 5 colors

Control modes: All LEDs On / Only Blue LEDs On / Close

Lumen : 6678

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/60-90-116cm-Aquarium-LED-Light-Lighting-Full-Spectrum-Aqua-Plant-Fish-Tank-Lamp/132111758384?hash=item1ec2797430:m:mSHWr-WsG_cl9XJk1j5JAag&frcectupt=true