ReefCleaners.org

Is taking live rock out bad for your tank?

TaterTotReef208

TaterTotReef208

So this is my first time posting, excited to join the conversation!

I have a general question about the live rock in my tank, and if taking it out will be detrimental to my system or not? I started my first saltwater tank about 3 months ago, and am now realizing the way I aquascaped is going to be really hard to place corals.

I have one big rock that I’d like to take out and replace with some stackable rocks or other live rock. At the moment I have some nems, zoas, leathers, euphyllia and blastos. I’m worried that I’ll crash my tank if I take the rock out, but if I leave it in I don’t know if I can make it work. The way it is shaped makes it impossible to stick a frag on there.

Any suggestions or ideas on how to move forward with this? 

As long as you're not removing all the rock, I don't think taking some out will cause your biological filter to crash.  If you are concerned that your tank's capacity to process ammonia might take a hit, you can always cycle your new rock in a bucket together with a powerhead and some seed rock from your display. That will allow you to get the new rock "up to speed" before you add it into your aquarium.

Do you have any fish? If not it probably doesn't matter at all, since the bioload from corals alone is not very high and your biofilter does not need to be particularly robust in order to support them (unless you are feeding them like crazy every day). Also if the rock you want to remove is the only rock in your tank, that might be a different story.

Oh and welcome to N-R! 😁

Removing all rock is an issue but removing a little or replacing it isn't an issue as long as you can ensure the new rock is completely cycled.