inTank Media Baskets

65 Gallon Reef

GavinAquaria

GavinAquaria

I’ve only ever kept nanos but am now working on setting up a 65 gallon cube (25x24x25) that I recently got. So I have a few questions and was hopping for some help. 

1. I want to have a zoa garden, a euphyllia garden and possibly a RBT anemone. I was wondering what the best light for it would be. I’ve been looking at either two AI Prime HDs or a Radion XR15. What would you recommend? Any others?

2. I want to have a few fish that like pods and was wondering if a 5 gallon HOB refugium would suffice for my size tank or if I should have a 10 gallon tank as my refugium (will have a separate sump). The fish are a pair of ruby red dragonets and a black leopard wrasse. 

3. I want to have a pair of clownfish and am debating between maroons or ocellaris. Would the maroons be too aggressive in a 65? Which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

1. I'm not a lighting expert, but what you're proposing doesn't require very intense PAR. I think one XR15W would more than get the job done.

2. IMO; you are going to have a tough time supplying enough pods for a pair of dragonets + a leopard wrasse in a tank that small. A 5 or 10 gallon refugium just isn't going to cut it. I'd stick with just the wrasse because at least you can supplement feed that if you run low on pods.

3. Go with the ocellaris pair; avoid maroons.

• Like 1
GavinAquaria
15 minutes ago, Humblefish said:

1. I'm not a lighting expert, but what you're proposing doesn't require very intense PAR. I think one XR15W would more than get the job done.

2. IMO; you are going to have a tough time supplying enough pods for a pair of dragonets + a leopard wrasse in a tank that small. A 5 or 10 gallon refugium just isn't going to cut it. I'd stick with just the wrasse because at least you can supplement feed that if you run low on pods.

3. Go with the ocellaris pair; avoid maroons.