Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Science Triplets

Kai

Well it's science if you write it down right? 

I've posted a few times in recent days about starting a pico tank in order to be able to better transport my corals when I move in about a year. Well I've never been good at making up my mind. I saw several ideas online and I couldn't decide which tank I wanted, or which size. So I decided to get them all. 

I was able to take rock out of the sump of my 75g and some from the frag tank that I'm disassembling due to the impending move so all of the tanks have something well established in them and are ready to go. 

The one on the left is a Tetra 1.5 gal tank. All standard box equipment right now. The middle is a 3.7gal Imagitarium AIO from Petco. And the right is a one gallon jar with an air stone. 

I have no stocking plans as of now. I'm new to the pico concept, so aside from fragging some of the zoas in my main tank and getting a (or many) sexy shrimp I'm all ears. 

Screen Shot 2019-07-03 at 11.20.06 PM.png

IMG_0484.JPG

• Like 3

The most obvious combo off the bat would be to do softies, LPS, SPS.

Or maybe an RFA, Zoa, and shroom combo.

I personally would like to see single species in each one, like euphyllias, montiporas, acans or favias.

• Like 2

The jar would be the most durable during a move.  They do have a two gallon version of that jar which a number of people have used in a recent contest; also, @Christopher Marks, the founder of Nano-Reef, is currently running one with a neat light lid.  The curved glass does distort the view (which I'm sure you've noticed).  People have picked up the 2 gallon jars at Target and Walmart.

The Tetra 1.5 would provide less distortion, but wouldn't be substantially different from keeping a jar.  Lighting and a top are things to consider.

The Imagitarium offers the most water volume, a place for a pump (for flow), and a filter chamber.  I'd ditch the light, but it seems like a reasonable option.

• Like 3