Cultivated Reef

Diy Long Nano size recommendations

Armstrod

Hi All,

Looking at DIYing a long nano tank. Running a pair of pico vases atm, and learning that big hands and small necked tanks lead to frustration. I want some room to place some more aggressive species of coral and have some smaller fish, without the big tank issues of being up to my arm pit in water chasing coralmorphs out from under the rockwork etc. 

Can I ask thoughts on a 116cm long x 24cm high x 21cm deep tank? I like the dimensions of the Mr Aqua long 3ft nano, but want to extend it to the length of the shelving unit it will be sitting on. (shelf will be reinforced for weight etc). I'm new to reefing in general so feel free to point out the obvious, as it's likely I'll be oblivious at this point.

I'd like to make it in drillable glass, so not tempered etc. Online calculators are saying 5mm thickness will give me a safety factor of 11. 

I like the idea of not having to reach into a tank hence extending the dimensions of the nano rather than going to a larger 4 foot factory setup. My focus is mainly corals and some smaller fish. Coral gobies, maybe some clowns at biggest.

Lighting will be a custom setup, so I can group LEDs where lighting is needed. Space them out where they're not. I'm relatively comfortable with electronics and will be running the tank on a reefpi. I like the flexibility of being able to pick out individual LEDs in the spectrum of my choosing and wire them in where I think a particular batch of corals would prefer shallow broad spectrums or deeper water blues.