inTank Media Baskets

Help A Newbie!

trickerie

Good afternoon all, 

I'm new to the reefing world and am in the planning stages. I currently have my 20 gallon long set up with a nice dry rock scape, and will be setting up my RO system here soon. I wanted some direction on water parameters as all of my knowledge on the subject is from freshwater planted Aquariums. 

1) Is top off water usually fresh RO or salt? 

2) what test kits do you all recommend? Mg, CA, and alk? Which brands? I've only ever used api

3) is there a daily regimine you can do for your tank, as I do for my fresh tank with fertilizers. I basically have 2 500ml bottles of mix and dose a certain amount each day. I've read about kalk a d 2 part, but am confused about it. 

4) what about reef "food" is there a specific brand/kind everyone uses? Ive only read about reef roids 

Thank you all! Sorry for the seemingly dumb questions. 

• Like 1
pricewayne
15 minutes ago, trickerie said:

Good afternoon all, 

I'm new to the reefing world and am in the planning stages. I currently have my 20 gallon long set up with a nice dry rock scape, and will be setting up my RO system here soon. I wanted some direction on water parameters as all of my knowledge on the subject is from freshwater planted Aquariums. 

2) what test kits do you all recommend? Mg, CA, and alk? Which brands? I've only ever used api

3) is there a daily regimine you can do for your tank, as I do for my fresh tank with fertilizers. I basically have 2 500ml bottles of mix and dose a certain amount each day. I've read about kalk a d 2 part, but am confused about it. 

4) what about reef "food" is there a specific brand/kind everyone uses? Ive only read about reef roids 

Welcome!! I'm still newer to the hobby, myself but here's what I know for sure 🙂

1 - this is still something I'm not 100% on. What I do know, is it's most important to keep your salinity level stable. Add too much salt water with top off and may spike salinity levels etc.