inTank Media Baskets

Montipora (plating) surprise recovery !

Newstead

I added a cheap frag of orange plating montipora to my Biocube 29 (stock lighting) on Feb. 15 just to see what it would do. To my surprise it did well, new growth, etc. 2 days ago I noticed 2 white spots on the top edge of new growth. Checked my alk/ca/mag and all had fallen a bit since my last check (I have been having to dose some of each day, so I upped the dosage amounts). I try to keep alk at 8, it had slowly fallen to 7.3.

More white today even slowly upping the alk, etc. Any hope or is it heading to the great coral graveyard in the sky? Any suggestions? 1st pic today, 2nd pic Sat, 3rd pic 2.5 weeks ago.

Sat tests

Temp 79

Salinity 1.026

Alk 7.3

Ca 410

Mag 1120

Nitrates 15 (always bet. 10 to 20)

Thanks.

20190506_115528.jpg

20190505_091816.jpg

20190412_203431.jpg

I'm not an expert but could be montipora eating nudibranches. They eat it and those white spots will continue to grow. I believe there is a dip you can try and maybe wrasses will eat them. Good luck. 

• Thanks 1
jservedio

If it is nudis and the coral isn't glued down, they are really easy to deal with before they spread if you act quickly. During the day, they live on the underside of the coral and look like tiny little grains of rice. They can be toothbrushed off and you can use a needle with peroxide to spray any eggs. They are easy to see with a flashlight on smaller pieces like yours.

I got a frag that had eggs on it and dipping didn't kill them, so a few weeks later when they hatched they attacked. I went a little overboard and blasted any suspect areas with lots of undiluted peroxide out of the water to make sure I didn't miss anything. I ended up killing about 1/2 of the coral, but they are extremely hardy and bounce back (and regrow) very quickly. Definitely don't write it off just yet.