SaltCritters.com

Complete Newbie. Starting with a pico and have questions/concerns

xredlinexx1

xredlinexx1

Hi All,

I'm in the planning process of starting a pico reef, with no experience in reefing or saltwater aquariums. I've been reading, reading and doing more reading trying to educate myself on everything related to keeping a reef. My goal is to create a pico tank that's aesthetically pleasing as possible and requires as little maintenance as possible (i realize this is kind of a pipe dream for picos). Money isn't much of an issue (so i think).

Here is my current inventory plan:
1. aquamaxx 2.6 gallon tank

2. NICREW ClassicLED light 12 - 18 inch version. I'm very much attached to this because of its size and the ability to remove its support wires.

2. hydro inline 200 watt 1/2 inch tubing heater
3. med nano 10 canister filter

4. jardli lily spin pipe and inflow pipe (aesthetics)

5. Mirror the back of the tank (i like the look and i think it will make the tank appear bigger when looking at it)

What i'm trying to achieve:
1. I'm going to build a very low profile tank canopy out of wood (i don't like those very tall canopies). The NICREW light will lay flush against the canopy roof mounted to the wood without using the provided The back of the canopy will have a gap wide enough to allow the lily pipes and light cord through and also provide some air.

2. I only want 2 glass pipes in the tank.

What i'm concerned about: