Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Quarantined Fish (Stores)

GrumpyDaddy68

GrumpyDaddy68

Hi all,

I'm new in the hobby; my tank is still in cycling process - IM 25 lagoon... (19 days). See image for a little peek ); I was wondering if you guys recommend an online store to buy 'quarantined' fish. I have red several threads but the reviews are kind of old. Honestly, at this point I am just looking for two clownish to start with. I know that in the future I might need to setup a quarantine/hospital tank... (I just want to hold on buying new equipment at this point).

Thanks for your help.

GrumpysLagoon.jpg

17 hours ago, GrumpyDaddy68 said:

Hi all,

I'm new in the hobby; my tank is still in cycling process - IM 25 lagoon... (19 days). See image for a little peek ); I was wondering if you guys recommend an online store to buy 'quarantined' fish. I have red several threads but the reviews are kind of old. Honestly, at this point I am just looking for two clownish to start with. I know that in the future I might need to setup a quarantine/hospital tank... (I just want to hold on buying new equipment at this point).

Thanks for your help.

GrumpysLagoon.jpg

I don't know of any store that TRULY QT fish... they 'condition' them on places like Divers Den. You can't really say a fish has been Quarantined in just two weeks time.

If you want some pretty reliably disease free fish, you simply buy them directly from the breeder. You can do this by ordering them at your LFS and picking them up IN THE BAG (they can't touch LFS water!).

You can also order drop shipped directly from ORA by buying them on Live Aquaria. 

I got mine directly from a breeder (Booyah's Reef) at a frag swap.

GrumpyDaddy68

Thanks Tamberav,

I went yesterday to my LFS and they get their fish from 'SeaandReef'; they told me that they get shipment every 2-3 weeks. I will be ordering a couple and ask them not to put in their water and hold them for me.