Cultivated Reef

Scratch vs AIO

Azreil13

Okay guys. I'm going to venture into my first attempt at saltwater. I've read and researched for years, but finally now am in a position where I can really afford to give it a go. 

My main question is where to really begin. I have an empty 10 gallon from my old freshwater set up. But it's literally just the tank now. 

As a total noob is it advisable to just use that tank, and attempt to modify it for a small reef? Or should I just go out and grab an EVO kit and dump the old tank?

My biggest concern is in the DIY portions. I'm not incredibly handy, and have very limited tools at my disposable. Basically just a screwdriver, hammer and handsaw.

I only plan on keeping live rock, inverts and some easy corals in this first tank. 

I don't want to bite off more than I can chew and ruin the hobby for myself. Thanks guys! 

For you I would suggest an AIO.  That way you know what accessories fit your brand/model and can search Nano-Reef to see what other reefers have done.  Plus, you can upgrade your tank as you learn and grow.

I was looking theough the EVO forums. They have pretty good reviews, but some people seem to have to replace every part within a couple months of buying it. I'm fine with slowly upgrading each piece, but to buy the kit and the new need 6-7 addition new parts almost immediately seems to be a bit expensive. 

13 minutes ago, Azreil13 said:

I was looking theough the EVO forums. They have pretty good reviews, but some people seem to have to replace every part within a couple months of buying it. I'm fine with slowly upgrading each piece, but to buy the kit and the new need 6-7 addition new parts almost immediately seems to be a bit expensive. 

Very true, but no matter what system you buy someone somewhere has had an issue with it.  The call is ultimately yours.

Just now, Jim_i said:

Very true, but no matter what system you buy someone somewhere has had an issue with it.  The call is ultimately yours.