ReefCleaners.org

Pink and reddish-brown spots on maxea clam mantle

A.m.P

Hey, I'm still rather new to keeping clams and don't have the experience to really have a great feel for what might be going on day-to-day with the animals. I bought a supposed maxima-crocea hybrid about a month ago, at the time of purchase is was an off-opal color with a fair bit of pink and almost-white blues. 

Under my lighting it has always looked a fair bit different, though at times it does show off a bit of its' old opalescent streaks, I'm running an AI prime do deliver around 250 Par to the rock it is on (5 or so inches below the water line). It's on said rock (really it is in a shallow hole) because it jumped off the rubble-peice I had attached it to and then totally-latched itself into a hole in the rockscape overnight and refused to let me budge it (I chose to instead rearrange the rockwork so it was as high as possible in the tank, but it still can't quite open all the way).

With that out of the way I was hoping to get some advice, information, or opinions on the bands of brownish and pinkish coloration around the mantle. I've read that they're everything from normal, to acclimation which can take months, to LED hot spots, to localized bleaching or overgrowth of symbiotic organisms from too much/little light-nutrient-etc. At this point I figured I would just ask and see if someone with more experience might have an opinion. 

The tank is a 12g nano-atoll and has no nitrate or phosphates, is minimally stocked, and I do 5% water changes weekly- dose two-part - and keep the alk around 10.5. The second picture is the most-similar to the clams' appearance, to my eyes at least, in person.

Thank you for your time!

Oh and it can actually open a bit wider than in my pictures , I just can't seem to not spook it with the camera >_< 

IMG_20190410_085405_63.jpg

IMG_20190410_085417_42.jpg

Tom@HaslettMI

Looks normal to me.