SaltCritters.com

Wingy's "Old School Pico Reef" now a 5 gallon rimless

Wingy

So I am going to give this a go.  I have no experience with saltwater and its been 20+ since I had goldfish so this is all new.  I am sure I will have many questions but I know you all will help and be cheering me on.  

Equipment

• 2.5 gallon Aqueon standard tank
  • Lumini Pixie 30
  • AquaClear 20 HOB

Hitchhikers 

Collonista snails 

Asternia starfish

bristle worm

Gammarus Amphipods 

spaghetti worms

4/28 update

Blue mushroom (aka Mister Cranky Pants).

Pom pom xenia

Clove polyps (3 polyps)

Knopia polyps

5/2 update

3 1 sexy shrimp

1 pom pom crab (aka Chris the crabby bastard) disappeared 

Armour of God zoa with 4 polpys.

5/16 update

Astera snail

Nassarius snail 

5//26 update

Duncan with 2 large and 3 emerging heads

Sunny D's zoa with 7 polyps

12/29 update

Xenia (trying again)

Blue and yellow favia

Pink orange and yellow acan

Blue and gold zoa

Pink and orange zoa colony

02/18/2020 

Replaced tank with a 5 gallon because I broke the 2.5

• Like 7

You totally got this! Obviously, don't be afraid to ask questions, everyone here loves explaining how things work, what to do and what not to do, etc.

Looking forward to seeing what you put together!

This is the perfect way to break into marine aquaria without breaking the bank.  You will have lots of support from the N-R community so ask about anything.  No question is foolish and we are happy to help.

• Like 4
8 hours ago, Wingy said:

I pulled the trigger and ordered the Lumani Pixie 30.  It will be here Tuesday or Wednesday.  

Eager to see how that light works for you. I got the Asta20, it's little sister

• Like 1
3 hours ago, MetaTank said:

Eager to see how that light works for you. I got the Asta20, it's little sister

I almost went with the Asta but for the extra $20 the Pixie is a bit more customizable and that was the deciding factor.  

• Like 1
1 minute ago, Wingy said: