Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Beginner coral!!!

Bobby Goetzeee

Bobby Goetzeee

I have a 30litre tank and I am looking for a  couple beginner coral that don’t need a high flow. I’m a experienced freshwater hobbyist but never have tried saltwater before. Any help would be perfect

• Like 1
NuisanceAlgaeCultivator

Welcome Bobby! These seem to be the trademark intro corals. Green Star Polyp, Pulsing Xenia, Duncan, and Zoanthid to kick off the list. I'm sure more people will chime in. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I second the GSP, Xenia, and Zoas. All of these have thrived in my tank and I'm still very new to the hobby. I have a couple leathers too that seem to be fairly easy but I'll let the experts chime in on that. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Gsp and Xenia both will grow extremely fast and cover rock you may not want covered, if you go that route just make sure you put them on a rock island. I would recommend mushrooms, zoas, and some of the easier leathers . Candy canes are pretty easy if you want lps.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

If your tank is healthy gsp and xenia can both grow very very fast and look awesome (too me). Kenya trees and devils hand leather are some other very fast growers. They drop natural frags they before long will be just as big as the mother colony. All of these "can" get annoying when you get more experience and want harder corals. But a softy tank can look just as good as a sps tank in my opinion.

Zoas can be easy too but sometimes you will hit a wall with them and not know why they aren't happy. Duncans can be easy too and grow fast.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
21 hours ago, Privateer said:

Gsp and Xenia both will grow extremely fast and cover rock you may not want covered, if you go that route just make sure you put them on a rock island. I would recommend mushrooms, zoas, and some of the easier leathers . Candy canes are pretty easy if you want lps.