Pod Your Reef

Scotty Amen's Evo 13.5: 1st Saltwater Journal

Scotty Amen

My wife and I have been doing freshwater for a few years and were always afraid of saltwater because "That's way too much work" or "It's so difficult"

But then I watched a Big Al's video on it and it encouraged me to try one.

This thread can be my journal to keep track of  progress, and hopefully to look back later and see how far it's come!

The first few posts will have to be historical, since I really started up the tank January 17 (41 days ago).

I got the Fluval Sea Evo 13.5G because there were so many videos showing that specific tank's setup / progress that I could use as follow-alongs, and because there are so many accessories and upgrades for it.  

The plan is a nice little CUC, i.e, a few snails, later a shrimp, and then 2 little clowns down the road, and maaaybe some easy, hardy corals. We'll see.

The fun so far:

1/17/2019    Setup tank, leak test, drain & dry, test equipment

1/18/2019    Add sand (Caribsea Aragalive Fiji Pink), saltwater (RODI from the store + Instant Ocean), rock (Caribsea Liferock)

1/19/2019    Add some freshwater fish food to start things going. Got a Magnum refractometer + calibration solution
1/21/2019    Add more fish food & some Fluval bio Enhancer
1/24/2019    Dose Dr. Tim's Ammonia
1/25/2019    First measurable ammonia (0.5)
1/26/2019    Ammonia measures at 4ppm, first nitrites measured
1/27/2019    Add ammonia ,bio, food
1/31/2019    Intank chamber 2 media basket, toss the sponge.
2/2/2019    First diatoms appear, yay little brown critters!

Early February: Nitrites continue to increase and eventually start seeing nitrates 

2/16/2019    50% Water Change to see Nitrates go from 40ppm down to 10

2/17/2019     Seeing pale green algae on tops of rocks, nearest the light. More signs of life!