Cultivated Reef

10 Gallons of Simple Science

Justin_Luke

Hello all! My name is Justin, and I am stepping back into the saltwater hobby. I kept saltwater tanks for a few years before I went to college, but due to moving so much (4 states in the last year alone) I haven't had a tank in four years! Now that I am settled however, I am excited to have the opportunity to have a tank again. 
Before I get into the tank setup, I'll tell you a little about myself. I am 23, and currently living in south Florida. I am currently in a graduate program where I am working on my masters degree in Marine Biology. I work in a lab at the university that specializes in coral toxicology, and I also work at the LFS in town. Needless to say, I am quite immersed in a marine lifestyle ;).
The reason behind the title of this thread is that I wanted to do a build that used reasonable, low cost materials and good methodology to produce a thriving micro reef community. I wanted to show that having a successful reef is not dependent on having the most expensive equipment or tending to your tank 10 hours a day. I hope to prove that with limited equipment and a reasonable amount of care you can have a successful and thriving reef. 
Lastly, I am far from an expert. I have been out of the hobby for a while, and am definitely rusty. I greatly appreciate all advice and tips that may come my way. I am still learning, and will continue to learn. Enough tanking, lets do this. 

The Build: 
Equipment: 
Tank - 10 Gallon Aqueon tank 
Lighting - Hipargero Led AquaKnight 
Filtration - Aquaclear 30 HOB filter with filter floss and carbon 
Circulation - Hydor Korallia 240
Heat - DaToo 50W Aquarium Heater 
Temp - Zacro digital thermometer 
Floating Glass cleaner 
Testing: Red sea fish Pharm

Current Livestock:
15 lbs dry and live rock (from the ocean)
~10 lbs live sand (from the ocean) 
3 blue leg hermits 
2 astrea snails 
NO aptasia! 

Tank Params:
Ammonia - 0.01
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 1 
pH - 8.6
dkh - 8.0