Top Shelf Aquatics

Three week old Evo 13.5, complete Noob

ECLS Reefer

This may be a slightly longwinded post, so bear with me, please. I started a brand new Evo 13.5 3 weeks ago, and it has been rocking along. Only problem has been nitrates that seem to come and go. I do pretty frequent regular water changes and clean the sand, around the rock and tank walls, but this nitrate issue keeps reappearing. The ammonia is usually 0 and the nitrites are always 0. Phosphates almost non detectable. I have made a couple of modifications to the tank so far because the PS2 skimmer wouldn't cooperate, so I put it in chamber 2. Since then, that silly thing skims like nuts. I put my filter and bio media (Fluval 100gm carbon, Fluval clearmax, Fluval biorings) in a big media bag in chamber 1, but am waiting on an In Tank basket to arrive hopefully tomorrow to sort those out. I also have some filter floss stuck down at the bottom of both chamber 1 and 2 at the outflows, which seems to have been catching a lot of nastiness. The pump is the stock pump so far. I just replaced the hood with a Current Orbit Marine LED and an Eflux Wave pump to get more flow in the tank, because I read that it helps keep the rock clean and push particles back to the filters. The corals seem to like the surge function too. The tank is stocked with two clowns (black oscellaris, true percula,) a blue spotted watchman goby, a scarlet shrimp, a snapping shrimp, 4 trochus snails and 10 dwarf red tip hermits. Have a single zoa, two slightly different palys, and a couple of star polyps, also some hairy mushrooms that are pretty active. We started the tank with live rock and live sand and water from the same store, all bought at the same place we bought the livestock. We get all our saltwater there as well. I think there's close to 15lbs of live rock in there, maybe slightly more with the smaller pieces making me lose count.