Pod Your Reef

Planning My Pico Jar

Ticoreefer

Hello! All the awesome tanks here have inspired me to start a 2 gallon pico in an Anchor Hocking jar. I have one of the Reefsmart PicoPro lights on order after seeing how awesome it looks on Chris's tank. I have been thinking about drilling  my jar to a 1/2 gallon Anchor Hocking, which would sit so the tops of the jars are the same height, in order to keep my heater and a powerhead (probably the Hydor Pico Evo, unless there are better options?) in it to un-clutter my display, and with the belief that the powerhead will be less noisy than a pump and bubbles. 

My main concern is evaporation, will it be increased with this setup, would I have to topoff more than once a week? My main reason initially for this setup was the lack of evaporation, I do not want to setup an ATO. I will keep the 1/2 gallon as sealed as possible with its lid. How much quieter will this powerhead be than a pump and bubbles? I have zero experience with either as I have only used HOB filters in the past. Finally does anyone know the diameter of the outlet on the Hydor Pico Evo? 

Thanks, I am very excited about this tank and keeping you all updated on it!

• Like 2

I kept the lid on my jar and never had to top up. 

I first used a hydor powerhead which kept my temp on spot but I got better response a flow movement with the hose/air pump.

I then had to use a heater. Chose the tetra 50w preset and it kept my jar 78/79.

Check out the pico jar contest in the pico section

Tons of ideas available. Some use an air hose with no stone.

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com!  Starting a new pico jar, that's exciting.

I'm not sure you'll be able to pull off plumbing a sump.  And I think that would take away the simplicity of keeping a jar.  Remarkably, you can keep a heater, temp probe, and airline in the jar and never really notice it (due to the refraction of the curved glass).

As Clown stated, check out the jars in the Creative Container Contest for ideas: