Pod Your Reef

Cycling problem - help needed - microbacter7

Darren94

I am new to the salt water world but have been doing C02 injected planted freshwater tanks for the last few years with great results. After a bunch of research on nano setups, i picked up a 13.5 gal fluval nano reef setup with the intentions of having a nice simple reef tank with low maintenance corals, clean up crew and 1-2 fish. Its been 5 weeks since setup but it seems my cycle process is stalled or non existent. Since week 2, the tank has been at .5 PPM ammonia and nothing else has changed. I test every day with water top offs and nitrate/nitrate are constantly at zero. Each freshwater setup i have done was fully cycled in 3-4 weeks. 

My tank set up is as follows: 

-Fluval 13.5 evo, reef led light, intank media basket, filter floss, carbon bags and bio media

-15 lbs of dry rock

-15 lbs of live sand, 1.5-1.75 inch depth

-1.025 salinity

-RO/DI water used 

-78 degrees, light on for 3-4 hrs daily

-daily phantom feeding for ammonia production 

-daily .5 - 1 full cap dosing with mircobacter7 (light off for 12+ hours after dosing)

Here is my concern, i have been dosing the microbacter7 for 5 weeks. I recently realized that the instructions state to daily dose for the first 2 weeks then to back off to once cap per week. Could the overdosing of MB7 be causing the cycle process to stop? My understanding is that too much MB7 causes a lack of oxygen but, i cant seem to find any other side effects. Should i continue with the MB7?

Thanks,

Darren

Darren, I wouldn't think so. I use MB7 as a weekly treatment in my Biocube and have used it daily when adding livestock.