inTank Media Baskets

Duncan not opening up

WJC1967

I have a 24 gallon JBJ nano with led lights. On 2/1 I added a Duncan and it opened up right away and was opened for a few days. On 2/4 I target fed it some frozen brine and since then it closed up. Just checked on it during lights out and it is halfway open. All water parameters are perfect. Everything else doing fine. Is this normal for a Duncan? Any info would be greatly appreciated. I am new to nanos. I had to shut down 6 tanks (30, 55, 75, 110, 180 and 350) and now I have two 24 gallon JBJ nanos one is a reef and one is fish only. 

1 hour ago, WJC1967 said:

How far down from the top should I place the Duncan 

I've usually had mine 1/2 way up and the Duncans have been happy but my LED's are not crazy strong.  They can be a little sensitive to too much flow though so I've had to tweak their placement because of that.  In that scenario they weren't puffing up as large as normal.

19 hours ago, WJC1967 said:

All water parameters are perfect.

Can you post all of your most recent test results?

Please include NO3 and PO4, as well as Ca, alk and Mg.

Thanks for the info I just ran another test. nitrate 0, phosphate .3 , calcium 400 and dkh 12. All the other corals are doing fine (Toadstool, hammer, trumpet,  candy cane, feather duster and some zoas) I also have fish in the tank and all are doing fine. Any and all advise is greatly appreciated. 

12 hours ago, WJC1967 said:

Test results from 2/4

Nitrate 0

phosphate 0

12 hours ago, WJC1967 said:

I just ran another test. nitrate 0, phosphate .3

.3 or 0.03? 

0.3 means that in three days your phosphates blasted upwards by a whole order of magnitude beyond ideal levels (0.03 ppm).

Alk seems a little high compared with calcium too....are you dosing for either one?

FYI...