inTank Media Baskets

Worth buying a used RO/DI?

hotdrop

There is a used BRS 5 stage RO/Di system on sale for 45 bux on my local offerup, is it worth buying it used and just replacing all the cartridges or are there other things that need to be replaced too? I've never used one before so not super sure what to look for or what the right price for one is. 

Just add purchase price plus price of getting all new cartrages and if cheaper than new go for it.  Not much else to go bad on them.  That said, if your only saving 5-10 bucks then obviously a few extra bucks for piece of mind might be worth that. 

Just now, Jeff Hood said:

Just add purchase price plus price of getting all new cartrages and if cheaper than new go for it.  Not much else to go bad on them.  

No issues with seals?

If your ok with changing the filters not much to go bad on them except bypass valve. But I would get prices on the cost of replacement filters and I bet your right there in price on cost or close too a new one.

If it doesn't leak, it's worth. you can test the membrane performance fairly easily after you replace all of the other filters. Just don't hook up the DI then do a pre and post filter TDS check. If you're getting 98%+ rejection, you don't need to replace the membrane yet. 

I have the spectrapure membrane that is 99% rejection and it's getting near 3 years now and still performing well.