ALVH

Connecting Two Aquarium Systems

ALVH

Hi all, I'm pretty new to reefing--have had a 14g biocube for a year or so. Decided to make a small 7 gallon sump and it's running great! Of course as soon as I did that I fell into a used 55 gallon aquarium with a pro clear sump. Good news is I have room for the new aquarium right to next to the biocube. Neither my DIY 7 gallon sump nor the pro clear will be big enough to run a combined ~95 gallon system.

How can I connect the two systems? Each will be on its own stand and I don't think drilling my DIY 7 gallon sump is an option--I would have to tear it down and start over and then have pipes going through the two stands. 

Any ideas?

Beer

Typically, if people are connecting multiple displays, they tie into one sump.

Tieing the sumps together can be tricky, especially if they are both on the same level. You need to consider inflow to each sump when all pumps are off, how much will drain into each sump, and how  the tie-in system will affect levels in both sumps. You also need to consider what will happen when the return pump is off in only one tank, each system will respond differently. What happens if the ATO fails off in one tank? What happens if the ATO fails on in one tank? What happens if the ATO runs dry on both sumps? What happens if multiple things occur that pushes more water into the sump with the smallest reserve capacity than any one condition?