inTank Media Baskets

Biocube 16 Set Up

Toasteh_ghost

Toasteh_ghost

Hey guys! This is my first time setting up a saltwater tank and I purchased a Biocube 16. After doing a bit of research, I think I’ve settled on the equipment and modifications I want, but I was hoping to get some input from someone with more experience in the hobby on my choices. This is my set up plan:

1. Remove media rack and replace with InTank media rack with the following:

Top: Filter Floss

Middle: RowaPhos (may remove if not needed)

Bottom: ChemiPure Blue

2. Remove the bottom in Chamber 1 and add Cobalt 3100 Neo-Therm Heater 75W. Add protein skimmer to Chamber 1 or 3. 

Cut overflow between Chambers 1 & 2.

3. Replace system pump with Cobalt MJ 900.

4. Addition of Hydor Koralia Circulation Pump, 425GPH.

5. Cycle with 10-15lb live rock and 20lb live sand for two weeks or until levels stabilize.

My end goal is to stock with:

2x Clownfish

1X Watchman Goby or Azure Damsel

Torch Coral

Green Star Polyp

Kenya Tree

Toadstool Leather

Pulsing Xenia

I haven’t decided on a good cleaning crew yet. Any thoughts or suggestions? 

I would love to get some input on my setup from you guys and hope to start a journal as soon as I get everything going! 🙂

• Like 1

I can't speak on all the upgrades because I don't have a biocube.

The one concern is the chemical media.

Rowaphos reduces phosphate. Using it without having an issue can strip the available nutrients in the tank that corals need.

Chemipure blue does the same thing, its carbon and resin which reduces phos.

Both products reduce phosphates-that could lead to potential issues 

• Like 1

Sounds like a good setup!

I agree with Clown, you could be fine with just the Chemipure Blue. I alternate using that and Chemipure elite.