Cultivated Reef

Newbie Nano-er Needs Lighting Help- 5g Marineland Portrait

LunaBug81

Not only am I a newbie to nano tanks but I'm also a newbie to saltwater aquariums. I know, I know, probably not the smartest thing to start with a nano but due to space and time this is what I decided worked best for me. Plus- I love challenges.

Here's what I have/running:

• Marineland Portrait 5 gallon tank
  • VicTsing 80 GPH pump
  • Hydor 50W Submersible Heater
  • Hydor Flo Rotating Water Deflector Attachment
  • Nature's Ocean Live Sand
  • 4-5lb Dry Live rock
  • Using filter floss and Chemi-Pure Blue Nano packets
  • Stocked with: Ocellaris Clownfish, Yellow Rose Goby, and two Nerite snails.

My tank has been up and running since October/November. I kick started the cycle with a dead shrimp and after cycling for a few months my levels are great. I decided to wait for fish until after Christmas due to out of town vacations.

Unfortunately the Clownfish I got two days ago has ick which I'll start treatment tonight/tomorrow.

My question and part I need help with is lighting. The stock lighting on the tank is okay but I hate that it is not programmable and I'd soon like to add some soft corals. I leave the house-weekdays-for work at 7:30am and don't usually return until 5:30pm. I'd hate for the bright light to be on that whole time. Anyone have any recommendations on a light I can upgrade to that is programmable and not super expensive? Width of my tanks is 11".

I found these but will gladly take any recommendations

AquaMaxx NemoLight

Fluval Sea Marine Nano

Photo when I first set tank up- (its no longer cloudy)

Resized_Snapchat-489635378.jpeg

Resized_20190112_192016.jpeg

Resized_20190113_000525.jpeg

• Like 1