SaltCritters.com

Whats the Current Buy Once Cry Once 20g and under setup

hotdrop

Newbie here trying to understand what to budget for and what kind of setup I need. I dont want to cheap out and get stuff that ill want to get rid of or replace immediately, but also trying to avoid gold plated stuff with unnecessary stuff like wifi and bluetooth. What do you guys recommend as the current best value 20g or smaller setup is (leaning towards rimless but i can be convinced otherwise). I want to mostly focus on learning to grow corrals and I plan to keep the tank minimally stocked with fish (except maybe some cleaner fish if recommended).

Is an all in one  the way to go?

Whats the current newbie recommended setup based on current available hardware? 

My plan is to buy high quality used parts where possible to help reduce costs a bit so maybe building around a single AI prime light unless you guys think that's overkill for a newbie. I want to spend the money upfront on things that make maintenance easier and make the system more stable. Trying to avoid sand for that reason as well. 

Id like an ATO but im not sure if I need or would benefit from a refugerum, sump, skimmer or controller suggestions?   

• Like 1

I like my WaterBox 20 AIO. Perfect footprint for a single Prime. Many others would also recommend the IM Fusion 20, though 2 primes are arguably better for the fusion.

All you need beyond the tank is Water, Salt, Heat, Flow, and Light to grow coral.

Buy an RO/DI setup and ATO from the start.

Edited to add ATO. Stability is king, you’re right. Go watch the BRS/WWC method series on YouTube. It’s chocked full of good information. 

• Like 4

I had sumps and now have AIOs...no real difference that effects my tank. I just have smaller equipment in the AIO. It is just personal preference.

I have a IM 25 Lagoon which works with a prime.

Personally I would suggest quality lighting and skimp somewhere else.