Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Setting up my first saltwater tank

BigFishGuy

Hello everyone and Thanks for reading,

Objective: 

I am new to saltwater but I am ready to learn and do what is necessary to have a stunning tank filled with coral and livestock.

Size:

This will be standard ten gallon tank from Petco. I do not have any knowledge of getting the bottom of the tank drilled in order to have a sump and from what I have read, it does not appear to be necessary with a nano tank. 

Background information:

I am a college student living two hours away from home. I will keep the tank at home with my brother doing maintenance while I am away. 

Equipment:

I am looking for quality equipment that is not going to break the bank. After hours of research, this is what I have thought about getting.

Ten Gallon Standard Tank - $10

Air Pump -  Hydor Koralia Nano 240  - $24

HOB Filter - Aquaclear ?? - What size should I get? I have seen AC20s AC30s and even AC50s.  ($22, $29, $37)

Heater - Probably going to get a 50 watt aqueon pro - $30

Light - Help me pick out a light please. I am not trying to spend more than $150, but I want a quality light that will grow all corals. 

Refractometer - $23 

Test Kit - API Reef Test Kit - $18.50

Total before stocking: $142.50 + Light

Substrate:

10-15 Pounds of Live Rock

Live Sand

Livestock:

Not definite on anything yet. Some ideas I've had though

Fish - Clownfish, Damselfish, Royal Gramma. Note: I am aware that I cant put certain fish with others.

Coral -  Anything that has nice color that can grown from the light I use. Nothing advanced

Inverts - Snails

Light-wise I am leaning towards current USA orbit Marine Aquarium LED Light 18-24 inches. For $100 I think it is a good price. 

Please give me feedback! Thanks

Welcome!  Mmm, do note the first months if not even longer usually can be potentially quite tedious when considering maintenance so make sure your brother is comitted IMO!