Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Using Bio-Spira with dry rock? (Cycle)

Hunter Lang

So I am new to the saltwater world and I just purchased a 10 gallon nano tank ( IM Nuvo) I am curious on how to start my cycling. Right now I have pre mixed saltwater in there and some sand substrate. I am planning on buying rock tomorrow

-but don’t know if I should get live rock or dry rock?

I know I need an ammonia source and dry rock won’t give that off,

-but will just putting in dry rock and adding Bio Spira be able to cycle my tank?

-Or will I need to add something like live rock or dead shrimp also?

-And using the bio spira with dry/live rock how fast does that speed up the process? 

Someone please help I can not find a specific answer to this question as there is a million ways people advise cycling their tank. I want it to cycle as quick as possible obviously but want it to be safe for the fish too.

- I have also read you can add dry rock and bio spira and a (live) fish to cycle your tank very quickly 

any thoughts?

First, don't add a fish till the tank is fully cycled. Cycling with fish is very hard on their bodies and was considered cruel ten years ago when I joined the hobby. I've seen several newcomers recently cycling with fish so I can only imagine someone out there is still advising it. All the fish does is add an ammonia source, which can be done other ways. 

With live rock, you shouldn't need an added ammonia source, and if the rock stays wet during transport you may not even have much of a cycle. Live rock from the ocean can have some amazing critters on it, both good and bad. Hitchhikers are my favorite part of live rock. You can add Biospira, it won't hurt, but it's not necessary.