SaltCritters.com

60 gallon to 10 gallons--YEAR UPDATE!

IHaveADegreeInMarineBioBut

Hi everyone! I've been keeping saltwater fishtanks for probably 10 years, but was interrupted when I went to school for marine science. I've had a 60 gallon running for nearly that amount of time, but my last clownfish died (~7 years old!) and it's now just sitting empty apart from some crabs and who knows how many worms. 

I've been wanting to downgrade--as I'm getting out of the hobby and very ready to go back to a HOB filter from a sump--to something I could move my crabs to and get maybe 1-2 fish. SO today I bought an Aqueon 10 Gal LED Aquarium Kit (https://www.amazon.com/Aqueon-Fish-Aquarium-Starter-Gallon/dp/B01LCZMHPM).. The bare minimum I need to keep a little ecosystem; though I might buy a powerhead if the filter isn't strong enough. 

My question is will the basic LED lighting provided support any kind of coral? Any mushrooms or anything at all? Just to fill the space in the tank. 

Also, do you guys suggest filling the filter with a carbon pack or live rock/bioballs?

The tank is being tested for cracks tonight, but I should be moving the rock/water/sand over the next few days!

Thank you so much

Basic led will not be enough. They barely grow low light plants.

You could try low light mushrooms but they won't be colorful, basically brown sand eith some paly's.

You could do non photosynthetic corals.

I ran my 15g eith a seachem tidal and used a powerhead but I had corals.

In my hob filter reef systems I ran the following.

Filter floss- purchased in bulk, cut to size, switched out twice a week

Activated carbon- purchased media bags and large containers of seachem or kent carbon. Bags rinsed with weekly waterchanges and carbon  changed every 2-3 weeks

Purigen- bag rinsed weekly and purigen changed when it turns brown.

Bioballs aren't popular anymore and liverock rubble isn't really needed with liverock in the tank. It makes it difficult to keep the filter clean