inTank Media Baskets

New Fluval 13.5 tank questions

LesPaulGtr

Hi All,

Absolute beginner here.  Just got a new Fluval 13.5 tank with Protein Skimmer and filled it (sand, rocks & saltwater) and had a few questions:

1. What should the water level be in the back chamber(s)?  Should it be filled almost to the top so the middle chamber filter media can be reached properly?
  2. I'm considering an ATO unit.  How should the sensors be setup in the return pump chamber so that I know to start topping off?  
  3. I'm also considering the Smart AWC.  Where would the recommended places for the sensors and where could the drain pump for the AWC fit in this tank?  Not sure there is much room in the return pump chamber.  Would it fit in the chamber with the protein skimmer?

Thanks so much in advance!

1. Something you decide yourself, the top “dots” are actually there to help maintain stable level.

2. Again, you decide yourself but use the dots as level guidance - the whole back chamber is aligned and water level will decrease/increase same amount in all 3 chambers.

3. Can’t advise.

Thank you Daniel91 for the reply!  But just to confirm, does the water level in the chambers have to be high enough, level with the carbon bag in the second chamber?

Thanks again.

16 minutes ago, Daniel91 said:

Yep - it should be cover the media.

Thanks!  I filled the overflow tank to about 1-1.5 inches from the top.  I think that should be enough to make sure it goes through the media right?

Anyone else have any placement recommendations for ATO/AWC?

Thanks.