inTank Media Baskets

Tidal 55 question

DSFIRSTSLTWATER

DSFIRSTSLTWATER

Hey guys, so I've been running the tidal 55 for a few months now and I was wondering if you use the seachem matrix? If you do, do you clean it out or rinse it off often? Can I just take it out and run my filter floss and chemipure?
I have had it in the whole time and it is getting pretty cruddy. I rinsed it in water old water change water, but it didn't really come clean. I'm getting more hair algae then I'd like and the only thing that hasn't changed is that bag of matrix. Floss gets changed at least twice a week and i do dump the filter once a month. Just wondering what you guys do or don't do.

Thanks Dave🙂

Matrix is meant to be rinsed regularly or it will buildup detritus. It does not need replacement.

Seachem instructions:

Matrix™ is completely inert and will not breakdown. It need not be replaced. Since the majority of the bacteria are internal, Matrix™ may be rinsed when needed without damaging the filter. Matrix™ is compatible with all types of wet or wet-dry filters.

If you haven't been rinsing the bag of matrix, the buildup would be a lot.

It's also beneficial to suck out with a Turkey baster buildup of particles in the filter every other waterchange. This prevents buildup on the media bags.

I didn't use the matrix with my tidal because I had enough rock in the tank.

• Like 2
DSFIRSTSLTWATER
6 hours ago, Clown79 said:

Matrix is meant to be rinsed regularly or it will buildup detritus. It does not need replacement.

Seachem instructions:

Matrix™ is completely inert and will not breakdown. It need not be replaced. Since the majority of the bacteria are internal, Matrix™ may be rinsed when needed without damaging the filter. Matrix™ is compatible with all types of wet or wet-dry filters.

If you haven't been rinsing the bag of matrix, the buildup would be a lot.