SaltCritters.com

What’s “normal” when first placing zoas in tank?

Kittiesta

So, this is my first attempt at corals, and I want to make sure everything is ok. I placed a frag plug of zoas (for the life of me now I cannot remember the strain), but in the store they were purpley-brown with green tentacles. They have been in the tank for 12 hours now and about 1/2-3/4 of polyps are open, but they are completely brown and dull looking. 

Is this part of the acclimating process and they will color back up in a few days? I tried searching but all the results I got were for zoas that were already established losing color. This is my first foray into corals, and I don’t want to be disappointed by killing anyone. 

My tank is a biocube with the stock led lights. (I was told in store this would be sufficient enough for zoas, and do plan on upgrading after Xmas). I placed them about mid level in the tank, and they get slightly higher flow from a power head, but not enough that they’re waving around. 

Parameters are ammonia 0ppm, nitrite 0ppm, nitrate 5ppm, ph 8.15, dkh 9.9, mg 1230, phosphate 0ppm, ca 405, salinity 1.025 and temp 79. 

I also added some gsp, which are starting to open up and look normal (despite my fighting conch running it over), and two mushrooms, both of which opened up right away and appear green and healthy. 

Zoas are one of the "most emotional" corals IMO....they seem to do well AND do poorly for no apparent reason.   I think they are a bad beginner coral for that reason....easy to think you're doing something wrong when you're not if you use them as your bellwether. 

The difference in color COULD BE nothing more than the difference between your lights and the store's lights.   Don't assume something is wrong with you or the tank.  (Both are possible, just no reason to assume.  Could just be the color of the lights.)

Mineral Levels

All that said, your calcium and magnesium are a little low vs alkalinity and specific gravity. 

Nutrient Levels