Pod Your Reef

Newbie 28 gallon hexagon

Sluglife2017

I am new to saltwater fish keeping. I was wondering if anyone could give insight into my hypothetically set up. I have a 28 gallon 21"L x 18"W x 20"H tank. Lots of info on normal sized aquariums but lots of conflicting information on hexagon fish capacity. I am going to run a marineland penguin 350 power filter, rio nano protein skimmer, hydor koralia nano 240 gph circulation pump. I am unsure as to what size heater I need?  I am thinking of doing a reef tank with 15 pounds live rock. I was wondering if i could house 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, 1 neon blue goby, and 1 orange Striped Prawn Goby. Crustacean and Mollusk wise I am thinking of 1 Maxima Clam, 3 Banded Trochus Snails, 2 Scarlet Reef Hermit Crabs, and 1 Pacific Clown Anemone Shrimp.  I am thinking about the following corals/plants: 1 Bubble Tip Anemone(higher in the water column on one side),1 Toadstool Mushroom Leather Coral(also higher up in the water column on the opposing side), 2 Candy Cane Corals (starting from each side of the live rock toward the bottom of the tank).  Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. 

Christopher Marks

Welcome to the community @Sluglife2017! 👋

All of the livestock you have in mind is definitely doable, but I would advise against an anemone, and suggest waiting a long time until your system matures before trying to keep a clam. Anemones are not easy to place in a tank, they can migrate around a tank after previously settling, disrupting a mixed reef. To avoid heartache, I would choose something else. Torch coral, frogspawn, or hammer coral can offer similar characteristics, and clownfish will sometimes host in them. Those are classified as large polyp stony corals (LPS), like the candy cane coral you are interested in.