Pod Your Reef

Struggling with supply list

Ocellaris PDX

Ocellaris PDX

Hello NR reefers. I'm a newbie to the saltwater hobby who's looking into getting my first saltwater tank, and I'm trying to get a grasp of EVERYTHING a saltwater tank requires to keep it healthy and running well (so a supply list, essentially). 

I've looked stuff up, read some build threads, and done searches here, but I still don't quite understand. 

For reference, I'm looking to get a pair of clowns and some soft corals and maybe macro. I'll be hopefully setting up the tank sometime next year when I'm less new and confused,  lol.

So far, I know (in addition to a IM fusion 20) I'll need/want:

Heater/thermometer 

Powerhead 

Light

ATO

Live rock

Sand

Salt mix

Glass cleaner

Siphon (already have a spare)

Turkey baster

Some buckets (already have)

pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate test kit

Refractometer

Now, here are some stuff I've read I'll need but don't understand completely:

Alk, Cal, Mag testing kit (are there lots that come with all of the above?)

Dosing stuff (what will I need for softies? Specific products?)

Skimmer (I've heard that it's not necessary, but I may add one later. Right now I'm trying to gather what I need.)

Filter media (What should I put in the back of my tank?)

Other than that stuff, I'm clueless. 

What did I miss? Can you explain the stuff on the second list? Will I need all of that? 

Thanks for patience. 

• Like 1

unless you plan to keep SPS, there's really no need for Alk, Cal, Mag testing kit.  You can always ask your LFS to test those if necessary.  No need for dosing stuff either.  No need for skimmer.  With 20 gallons, you can get away with just regular water changes.  For filter media, just get chemipure blue for ease of use.  You will also need some filter floss.  Other than that you are good to go!  

• Like 3
Ocellaris PDX
5 minutes ago, ninjamyst said: