Coral Vue Hydros

Button coral looking weird....??

Toddv89

Hello all! I'm no coral expert and I just picked up this unnamed button coral from a Petco. Their Tanks were not looking very well and I think this coral needs some help. Polyps are all brown and my major concern is about all that green membrane looking stuff between the polyps. Any advice would be appreciated!

IMG-0105.JPG

Well, I'm no zoa or pally expert, but the 'membrane' between the coral polyps makes me think sponge.  Does it break of if you pull on it?  Does it feel like a sponge?

I wouldn't buy anything from Petco. Ever.

Their tanks are full of pests and they don't take care of their animals.

Buy from a LFS you can trust. Their prices are a but higher, but you know their products are good.

• Like 1

Personally I'd take it out. Not sure what that stuff is but I wouldn't take the chance introducing something that might spread around your tank. Especially with petcos reputation

26 minutes ago, Joevember said:

Buy from a LFS you can trust. Their prices are a but higher, but you know their products are good.

Completely agree. I would much rather do that except that the nearest place to purchase any live salt fish or coral is that Petco which is an hour drive one way or its 2.5 hrs one way to a very awesome LFS. Maybe I should just do my coral business online.

2 minutes ago, RayWhisperer said:

It's a sponge, and it's probably killing that coral. Yes, sponges can kill coral.

Wow thats crazy. Didn't know that. Any thing that can be done about it? I didn't see it until I got it home and the coral was all closed up and revealed the sponge beneath it.

4 hours ago, Toddv89 said:

Hello all! I'm no coral expert and I just picked up this unnamed button coral from a Petco. Their Tanks were not looking very well and I think this coral needs some help. Polyps are all brown and my major concern is about all that green membrane looking stuff between the polyps. Any advice would be appreciated!