Coral Vue Hydros

Low Tech Desk Nano 15g

Havre

Hello fellas!

New guy here, I'm a reefing beginner and I wanted to share my journey with like minded people. Hopefully to learn and gain valuable feedback from more experienced reefers. 🙂

I'm a 30 yo lad from Sweden and I do have experience from the fresh water hobby where I've kept wild discus for several years, so I would say I have basic knowledge about the aquarist hobby. However I had to sell everything prior to building a house and moving, just couldn't keep up with everything plus the discus but now I'm simply trying something else and small to begin with and we'll see where it takes me. 🙂

I'm going to setup a fairly simple tank (Dennerle Scapers Tank 15G, cause that's what I had left), a couple of rock, alittle sand, a heater, powerheads and a small Tunze Comline Streamfilter just to be able to run some carbon and whatnot and hide the heater and auto-top-off. Going to have 1000~ gallons/hour of flow to begin with. Not going to use RO water to begin with even though most people recommend it, I have my own well and provide my own water so I know exactly whats in it, which to me is an advantage at least compared to municipal(?) water. Maybe I'll start RO again when the garage is finished, which it isn't, yet.

Got an AI Prime HD light using David Saxby's schedule. Hopefully I'll be able to run it without any more equipment than this and do weekly 10-20% water changes. Only going to stock a couple Trochus, a hermit and two clownfish + some corals. 

I've just started the cycling plan instructed by Red Sea Reef Mature starter kit. However I won't be adding any livestock as soon as it tells me, because I want to be incredibly anal about quarantining everything for at least 4 weeks to make sure I don't get a bad start.