ReefCleaners.org

Is my GSP Dead/Dying

Pico5

Hello All. I am new to reefing and I recently added a GSP to my 5 gallon pico tank about a week and a half ago. It looked perfectly healthy when I bought it. Since then it has not opened and it seems like it’s peeling.. please help and give me more information ! 

49635788-FBA1-4476-9BD0-F2719A9A6ED8.png

Floundering_Around

3 minutes ago, ReefGoat said:

Is that piece of driftwood that coral is sitting on?

it looks like a fake decoration. Although driftwood can be used in marine tanks.

35 minutes ago, Pico5 said:

Hello All. I am new to reefing and I recently added a GSP to my 5 gallon pico tank about a week and a half ago. It looked perfectly healthy when I bought it. Since then it has not opened and it seems like it’s peeling.. please help and give me more information ! 

49635788-FBA1-4476-9BD0-F2719A9A6ED8.png

Please provide us with your tank's water parameters. Was the tank cycled when you added the GSP? How much flow and light is it getting?

Hello. It is sitting on a decorative piece not real driftwood. As of right now all my parameters are good except for my nitrate. My wife made the mistake of overfeeding but this is the first time my nitrate has spiked. This is a 3 week old tank. The aquarium store I purchased the GSP from told me that it should be fine. I just recently added the Fluval Sea Marine Nano LED. 

3 week old tank and LFS says it should be fine.

Why isn’t this surprising at all?

So what are your nitrates at?

Did this tank cycle properly? 

Did you add the light before introducing the GSP?

How high off the water is your light mounted?...

So many variables here...

My salinity is a bit low so hopefully doing a water change will help my GSP recover. I also purchase this Prime from my local PetSmart to try. I’m not sure if the nitrate is high do to the GSP possibly being dead.. 

image.jpg