Cultivated Reef

Tank Crashing!?!

kylexarbor

so, I am new to reef keeping and have had a heck of a time. It started with diatoms to green algae then dinos and Cyanobacteria. I made the big mistake of not using ro/di water, which I’ve now remedied, but I think that’s where it all started. 

I have a Biocube 29 with the RapidLED upgrade on the lights. A DIY media rack with floss and Chemi Pure Elite in the second chamber along with a newly added hydor slim skim nano. The third chamber has Purigen and my return pump. 

Water parameters are: API tests

Temp 80 F

SG 1.025

pH 8.4

ammonia 0

nitrite 0

nitrate 0 

kH 10

calcium 440

-getting a phosphate test this week

The tank is 4 months old and when all was well life-wise I had 2 ocellaris clowns, 1 bangaii cardinalfish, 1 Chromis, 1 pincushion urchin, emerald crab, coral banded shrimp, 2 turbo snails and 5 red legged hermit crabs. For corals I have a zoanthid, frogspawn, Kenya tree coral and a goniopora.  In the past week I’ve come to find the cardinalfish dead, then the Chromis, followed by my urchin losing all of its spines and dying 2 days ago and one of my clowns was gone this morning. I haven’t had any major shifts other than I recently added the rodi system and skimmer in the past 5-6 days. My readings are stable and I check them often and perform a ~30% water change every week. My nitrates almost always read 0. It’s been tough keeping positive about this hobby so far but I’m still here and want to figure this out. The money loss is no fun, but I hate seeing these friends of mine swim away. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if I left any info out. 

Thanks.

4Swanson2Reefer0N00b