Cultivated Reef

Feeding Acans and LPS?

Will_0505

so I’m a complete reefing noob. I picked up two acans for 30 dollars yesterday and this morning I fed one frag a few prime reef flakes. I was wondering if I can use hikaris First bite fry powder for coral? It’s like reef roids in powder and texture but I’m not sure if I can feed that thx. Pics below on my acans!

E6F68993-8424-49F9-B2B3-6F04BD32C951.jpeg

98927240-0BC1-441F-846B-D5A4FBF4928C.jpeg

I don't see why not. The ingredients look good for LPS corals, they like meaty foods. 48% protein sounds good for them 😁. I feed my LPS a lot of different things like brine, mysis, powder foods, and krill for the big ones.

If you decide to use it let me know how it goes.

1 minute ago, Joevember said:

I don't see why not. The ingredients look good for LPS corals, they like meaty foods. 48% protein sounds good for them 😁. I feed my LPS a lot of different things like brine, mysis, powder foods, and krill for the big ones.

If you decide to use it let me know how it goes.

I was wondering if there were anything like copper of anything in them i read to not feed fish foods because some have this and it kills the corals

Just now, Will_0505 said:

I was wondering if there were anything like copper of anything in them i read to not feed fish foods because some have this and it kills the corals

Corals need trace amounts of copper to grow and thrive.  It's higher doses like we use to treat parasites which can be toxic.  The only way I could see it ever being an issue is if you fed foods/supplements with trace amounts of copper for a long period of time without doing any water changes.  

• Like 1
3 minutes ago, specore said:

Corals need trace amounts of copper to grow and thrive.  It's higher doses like we use to treat parasites which can be toxic.  The only way I could see it ever being an issue is if you fed foods/supplements with trace amounts of copper for a long period of time without doing any water changes.