Innovative Marine Aquariums

Total noob in need of advice

WCO2 Neptune

WCO2 Neptune

Been trying to get my tank going but see very little improvement. 1st tsf attempt ended in all corals dying. Only things to survive are 1 diamond goby and 3 clown fish. Started again with new frags but not seeing much from them. Been reading and am doing some upgrades to tank. Hoping to get things on track.  Orders on the way are better lighting system, skimmer, and wave maker, pending purchase is the in tank filter system. Got pre made salt water waiting for upgrades before doing a water change.  My live rocks seem to be turning orange and light brown.. hope that's a good sign..

20181008_125724.jpg

20181008_125737.jpg

Any obvious signs of bacteria, parasite, anything else that could have taken your tank out? Acclimation issues? Could be anything... what tank do you have? Lights? Current filtration?

WCO2 Neptune

Just the basic attached filter and lighting that came with unit. Hence why I ordered several upgrades... waiting for ups man 🙂

Finally got worried when my big snail cleaner died.. I did a water test but nothing out of the norm... 

What type of tank is that? 

Looks like diatoms on the rocks, causes are excess nutrients, poor water source (such as tap), or new sand/new rock, sometimes even new equipment can cause it from excess silicates. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

∆ what tank is that?

6 fish seems like a lot. I agree with the water source being a possible culprit of problems. You can mix your own salwwater with RODI from the lfs or from your own filter or buy distilled water. No tap water. Weekly water changes. 10-20% at least. Don't over feed. Post your actual parameter test results. "Within range" doesn't help people know how to help you. Need nitrate, ammonia, phosphate tests. Need more info to give better advice. 

• Like 1

There are a lot of factors that come into corals mot doing well 

Water quality/stability and lighting.

What size of tank is it?