Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Distilled/RODI needed for macro tank?

jesseatam

I'm currently a college freshman and want to keep my hobby going while away from home. I've been in the hobby for around over a year and a half now and have a relatively successful 30 gallon reef tank at home currently so I'm not a complete newbie. I was beginning to shy away from keeping a reef tank while away due to the fact that I'm not sure if I would be able to readily access distilled/RODI water to use for water changes so I began looking more towards the idea of a low-tech planted betta set up. Then it hit me, why not a saltwater macro algae set up? If I did a freshwater planted set up I would just be using tap water, so I'm just wondering would it have to be any different for a saltwater one? Thanks in advance.

I wouldn't use tap for macro algae. There still is stuff in tap water that can effect their health. The algae that often comes with tap water will most likely cover the macro.

For a serious planted tank I wouldn't use tap water as it often causes unwanted algaes that the plants can't compete with.

• Thanks 1
  • 2 weeks later...

@jesseatam What sized setup were you thinking?  A LFS’s premix or probably buying distilled wouldn’t be much really especially after initial setup for a smaller nano or pico?  Distilled is readily available at grocery stores.

I wouldn’t use tap, if you absolutely have to use it, get fast growing macros that would possibly outcompete nuisance algae for nutrients like caluerpa prolifera and dragons breath (mount by a return).  

• Thanks 1
10 hours ago, Aurortpa said:

@jesseatam What sized setup were you thinking?  A LFS’s premix or probably buying distilled wouldn’t be much really especially after initial setup for a smaller nano or pico?  Distilled is readily available at grocery stores.